Books
Key themes of this exhibition include political satire critiquing social, historical and political issues including corrupt politicians, gentrification, violence and racism. García seeks to ask questions, spark conversations and challenge viewers to re-evaluate historical narratives.
Chicano Art
The Chicano Studies Reader: An Anthology of Aztlán, 1970-2010Call Number: 973.046872 C5329N2016ISBN: 9780895511621
Chicano and Chicana Art: A Critical AnthologyCall Number: e-book (requires DePaul login)ISBN: 9781478003403
Chicano Art: Resistance and Affirmation, 1965-1985Call Number: 704.0368 C532G1991ISBN: 9780943739151
Chicano Art Inside/Outside the Master's House: Cultural Politics and the CARA ExhibitionCall Number: 704.036872 G249c1998ISBN: 9780292728011
Contemporary Mexican Painting in a Time of ChangeCall Number: 759.97209 G619c1995ISBN: 9780826315625
Influences
Toward a People's Art: The Contemporary Mural MovementCall Number: 751.730973 C665t1998ISBN: 9780826319326- Bringing Aztlán to Mexican Chicago: My Life, My Work and My ArtCall Number: e-bookISBN: 9780252035388
Comics and Cartoons
Follow Drawn & Quartered: The History of American Political CartoonsCall Number: 320.9730207 H5868D1996ISBN: 9781880216392
Colonialism/Mexico
Baroque Sovereignty: Carlos de Siguenza y Gongora and the Creole Archive of Colonial MexicoCall Number: e-book (requires DePaul login)ISBN: 9780812244694
Christian Texts for Aztecs: Art and Liturgy in Colonial MexicoCall Number: 266.2 L318c2008ISBN: 9780268033798
Books by Garcia
Drawing on Anger: Portraits of U.S. HypocrisyCall Number: 320.9730207 G2163D2018 (Lincoln Park Info Commons)ISBN: 9780814254905
Article Databases
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowIndexes US ethnic and minority publications; with full text.
Dates Covered: 1960-present. - Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Art Full Text
Indexes articles from art journals and museum bulletins. Coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994; full-text coverage for selected periodicals begins in 1997. Dates Covered: 1984-Present. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections on JSTOR which includes the full text of more than 2,600 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Includes access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections including JSTOR Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability. - Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Dates Covered: 1970 - present.
