Article Databases
Key themes of this exhibition include performance, installation, photography, ritual, post-colonialism, identity, cultural appropriation, tourism, ballet and dance, museology, institutional critique, Black diaspora. Use the following DePaul University databases to find relevant articles.
Performance, Installation, Photography, Dance/movement, Cultural Appropriation/museology/institutional Critique
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals in dance, film, television, drama and theater; with abstracts and some full text.
Dates Covered: 1864-present. - Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Art Full Text
Indexes articles from art journals and museum bulletins. Coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994; full-text coverage for selected periodicals begins in 1997. Dates Covered: 1984-Present. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections on JSTOR which includes the full text of more than 2,600 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Includes access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections including JSTOR Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability.
Black diaspora, Post-colonialism, Ritual, Identity, Cultural Appropriation, Tourism
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Includes Social Services Abstracts, and forms part of the Sociology Collection.
Dates Covered: 1952-present.
Extent: Multidisciplinary
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Academic Search Complete
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.
Extent: Multidisciplinary
Selected Books
Representing Africa in American Art Museums: A Century of Collecting and DisplayCall Number: 709.6 R42596ISBN: 9780295989617
Images and Empires: Visuality in Colonial and Postcolonial AfricaCall Number: e-bookISBN: 9780520927292
Exhibiting Cultures: The Poetics and Politics of Museum DisplayCall Number: 069.5 E96KISBN: 9781560980216
Books
Search the library database, WorldCat Local for books relating to the exhibition themes.