Intellectual Property and Technology Law

Miller and Davis' Intellectual Property, Patents, Trademarks, and Copyright in a Nutshell presents the fundamentals of trademark and copyright laws. Authors Michael Davis and famed Harvard professor Arthur Miller provide authoritative coverage on the foundations of patent protection, patentability, and the patenting process. The text addresses: Torts and property Antitrust and government regulation Concept of federalism State and federal conflicts

This respected resource provides up-to-date, integrated coverage of the law of trade secrets, copyright, trademarks and patents, ideas, and non-competition agreements. It covers the latest legal developments in such hot areas as biotechnology, intellectual property, due diligence, software protection, copyright infringement, ownership of employee inventions, and more. By Michael A. Epstein. Epstein on Intellectual Property, Fifth Edition covers the latest legal developments in such hot areas as biotechnology, intellectual property, due diligence, software protection, copyright infringement, ownership of employee inventions, and more. You will consult this reference for expert answers to questions such as how to: Prevent the unauthorized use and disclosure of your company's trade secrets Determine what types of materials and information are covered by the copyright laws Apply for and enforce patents Reduce the risk of claims under the andquot;law of ideasandquot; Make effective use of noncompetition agreements Deal with the unique problems of biotechnology

In this detailed yet readable legal analysis, the authors thoroughly evaluate the connections between intellectual property and the sports and entertainment industries, covering everything from copyrights and patents to trademarked logos and marketing strategies. * Provides a complete survey of intellectual property law in the sports and entertainment industries including copyright, patents, trademarks, trade dress, trade secrets, and the right of publicity * Fills a growing need for information about entertainment-specific intellectual property law as entertainment programs at the universities and law schools are increasing at both the undergraduate and graduate levels * Addresses the specific challenges and issues brought about by various forms of digital technology

When seeking to clear music rights for products and performances, let the authors, who have over 50 years of hands-on experience, take you step-by-step through the entire licensing process. In clear, coherent language, they provide detailed explanations of the many kinds of music licenses, identify the critical issues addressed in each, and offer valuable strategy and guidance to both rights owners and prospective licensees. Kohn on Music Licensing, Third Edition covers: - Licensing for computer software and in multimedia and new media products - Licensing music and sound recordings in cyberspace - Music publishing - International sub-publishing - Co-publishing and administrative agreements And songwriter agreements. Proven tips and suggestions, along with the most up-to-date analysis, are given for virtually all the areas of music licensing including: - How to clear a license - Copyright renewal - Negotiating fees - And more.

Music law involves several key substantive areas of law copyrights, trademarks, and identity rights, to name a few. While traditional entities such as songwriters and record companies have always existed, technological advances in digital distribution have brought important new players into the mix. Concerns about the usage rights of digital music have emerged as well as agreements arising from the use of music in advertising and branding. Inexpensive duplication technology, the portability and ubiquity of mobile music devices, and the ease of transmitting digital files have also become areas of concern. Music Law for the General Practitioner provides lawyers with comprehensive information on the business and legal topics that are likely to be encountered when representing a musical talent, producer, or consumer. Topics include: Music publishing Financing of bands Record companies and producers Agents Taxes Musicians estate"

This Concepts and Inisghts title offers an unusual mix of approaches to explaining the modern patent system. It combines both a comprehensive view of the law itself with key academic insights that illuminates the manypolicy challenges in the area today. The book is theoretical, yet grounded in the realities of the legal system - drawing from a range of original works across the field. As such, the book will be useful to the scholar, the student, and the practitioner - anyone who needs a compact, yet sophisticated overview of patent law.

Invention Analysis and Claiming: A Patent Lawyer's Guide, Second Edition, presents a comprehensive approach to analyzing inventions and capturing them in a sophisticated set of patent claims. A central theme is the importance of using the problem-solution paradigm to identify the "inventive concept" before the claim-drafting begins. The book's teachings are grounded in "old school" principles of patent practice that, before now, have been learned only on the job from supervisors and mentors. Questions at the end of each chapter have been added to: -Confirm the understanding of the principles presented; -Explore the jurisprudential and practical implications of those principles; and -Try out the invention analysis and claim drafting skills taught in the chapter.

This essential desk reference for patent attorneys, engineers, entrepreneurs, innovators, development professionals, and students has been updated with the latest court cases and legislation. * Makes patent law accessible to both novice and expert practitioners * Discusses a number of recent landmark Supreme Court decisions, including Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank (2014), discussing when software-implemented business methods are unpatentable as abstract ideas; Commil v. Cisco Systems (2015), on the intent required to induce infringement; and Samsung Electronics v. Apple (2016), addressing the award of the infringer's profits from infringement of a design patent * Contains sample utility and design patents for reference * Walks readers through the many parts of a patent

It is impossible to overstate the importance of America's cyber infrastructure to our individual welfare and national security. Yet, cybercrime is rampant. Critical systems are vulnerable to malicious forms of electronic intrusion and interference. The U.S. is both the source and target of international cyber aggression. How the U.S. responds to these challenges depends partly on questions within the specialized domain of scientists and engineers. But questions of policy, well within the understanding of non-expert citizens, also loom large and the public, by and large, is not discussing them. Cybersecurity: Shared Risks, Shared Responsibilities aims to make key issues accessible to a broad readership. Experts in law, business, public policy, information and computer science, and national security have joined in this volume to stimulate an informed public dialogue that moves past political shibboleths and toward a nuanced understanding of the cybersecurity challenge and the tradeoffs entailed in formulating a sensible national response.

Global Internet Law in a Nutshell begins with a review of the history, technology, and competing theories of the Internet that enables a deeper understanding of case law and statutory developments discussed in the substantive chapters. It briefly covers the history of the Internet through the rapidly evolving Web 3.0, competing theories of Internet governance, cyber jurisdiction and enforcement of judgments, choice and conflicts of law, cybertorts, online contracting and licensing including social media terms of use, the protection of online intellectual property assets, global consumer law, the protection of online privacy, criminal liability for Internet activity, and European Community statutes such as the General Data Protection Regulation, E-Commerce Directive, Brussels Regulation, and Rome I Regulation. The Third Edition presents a concise discussion of cloud computing and social media terms of use. Each chapter of this revised edition updates the key cases and statutory developments from the United States, Europe, and around the world. This book is an ideal beginning textbook as well as starting point for most Internet-related research. This short treatise provides a succinct summary of e-commerce law developments around the world.

'Lothar Determann has done a great service to the field of privacy by providing practical, workable advice for a dynamic and challenging issue. This Field Guide will certainly be a valuable, and soon dog-eared, addition to any privacy professional's reference library.'- J. Trevor Hughes, President and CEO, International Association of Privacy Professionals (IAPP)Companies, lawyers, privacy officers, developers, marketing and IT professionals face privacy issues more and more frequently. Much information is freely available but it can be difficult to get a grasp on a problem quickly, without getting lost in details and advocacy. This is where Determann's Field Guide to Data Privacy Law comes into its own - helping to identify issues and provide concise practical guidance in an increasingly complex field shaped by rapid change in international laws, technology and society.

Focusing on laws relating to intellectual property and freedom of expression, this book covers legal issues relating to information technology and the Internet. Exploring such legal battles as A&M Records v Napster and Apple Computer v Franklin Computer, it allows readers a look into stories of trade secrets, music theft, and industrial espionage.

Cybercrime has become increasingly prevalent in the new millennium as computer-savvy criminals have developed more sophisticated ways to victimize people online and through other digital means. The Law of Cybercrimes and Their Investigationsis a comprehensive text exploring the gamut of issues surrounding this growing phenomenon. After an introduction to the history of computer crime, the book reviews a host of topics including: Information warfare and cyberterrorism Obscenity, child pornography, sexual predator conduct, and online gambling Cyberstalking, cyberharassment, cyberbullying, and other types of unlawful expression Auction fraud, Ponzi and pyramid schemes, access device fraud, identity theft and fraud, securities and bank fraud, money laundering, and electronic transfer fraud Data privacy crimes, economic espionage, and intellectual property crimes Principles applicable to searches and seizures of computers, other digital devices, and peripherals Laws governing eavesdropping, wiretaps, and other investigatory devices The admission of digital evidence in court Procedures for investigating cybercrime beyond the borders of the prosecuting jurisdiction Each chapter includes key words or phrases readers should be familiar with before moving on to the next chapter. Review problems are supplied to test assimilation of the material, and the book contains weblinks to encourage further study. 　

Above link goes to IICLE digital Smartbook.

Catalog record link:
https://vufind.carli.illinois.edu/vf-dpu/Record/dpu_1223861