Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Facts and Figures
Chicago Area Data and Statistics
Chicago Health Atlas
Find health-related data that you can review, explore and compare over time and across communities.
City of Chicago Data Portal
The City of Chicago's Data Portal is dedicated to promoting access to government data and encouraging the development of creative tools to engage and serve Chicago's diverse community. The site hosts over 200 datasets presented in easy-to-use formats about City departments, services, facilities and performance.
CMAP’s Community Data Snapshots
Summary data about demographics, housing, employment, transportation habits, retail sales, property values, and land use in metropolitan Chicago's 284 municipalities. Contains downloadable snapshots of data at the county, municipality, and community-area (i.e., neighborhood) levels.
National Data and Statistics
Hub of data and policy-related materials, with some very useful tools for finding data at neighborhood, state, and national levels.
Data.census.gov is the official platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 50 sources and 67 periodicals indexed and abstracted.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Uses historical census data and demographic information to create maps and reports of demographic and social change throughout history. Includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000.
International Data and Statistics
UNdata This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a variety of statistical databases from the United Nations. Covering a wide range of topics including Agriculture, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
Access note: Freely available to the public.
IssueLab, a service of the Foundation Center, provides searchable access to thousands of case studies, evaluations, white papers, and issue briefs covering issues of social concern both nationally and internationally.
Social Impact Research Center from Heartland Alliance
The Social IMPACT Research Center is a program of Heartland Alliance, the leading anti-poverty organization in the Midwest.
The Social IMPACT Research Center at Heartland Alliance collaborates with clients to measure and grow social impact. This work equips nonprofits, foundations, and governments to advance real-world solutions to poverty.
The University of Chicago Consortium on School Research
The University of Chicago Consortium on School Research builds the capacity for school reform by conducting research that identifies what matters for student success and school improvement.
Urban Institute Publications
The Urban Institute provides research reports on social and economic issues related to cities. Reports may be browsed by broader categories (e.g. "Taxes and Budget," or searched by topical keywords.
Public Policy Research Guide
Scholarly and trade article databases for more extensive research on Public Policy issues.