Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The most well-known online genealogy resources are subscription-based, such as Ancestry.com and HeritageQuest.com (available at Chicago Public Library), but there are quite a few free resources on the Web as well as some to which DePaul provides access. This guide will provide you with some starting points and some tips for searching resources through the DePaul Library web site.
Ancestry.com This link opens in a new window
Includes census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, with extensive coverage for the United States and the United Kingdom. Also includes collections from other areas of the world, including Canada, Europe and Australia. This collection includes thousands of databases and billions of indexed names.
Chicago Tribune Historical Content This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the complete paper version of the newspaper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. More recent years of the Chicago Tribune are available through the Chicago Tribune Current Content collection as well as US Newsstream (ProQuest).
Dates Covered: 1849-2010.
New York Times Historical Content This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the complete paper version of the newspaper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format going back to 1851.
Dates Covered: 1851-2017.