Recommended Databases
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from art journals and museum bulletins. Coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994; full-text coverage for selected periodicals begins in 1997. Dates Covered: 1984-Present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections on JSTOR which includes the full text of more than 2,600 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Includes access to all journal, thematic and primary source collections including JSTOR Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage extending back into the 19th century. It includes bibliographic records for material about the Bible, archaeology and antiquities; human culture and society; world religions and religious studies; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; and theology, philosophy and ethics.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Includes Social Services Abstracts, and forms part of the Sociology Collection.
Dates Covered: 1952-present.
Recommended Background Information
- Catholic EncyclopediaThe Catholic Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive resource on Catholic teaching, history, and information ever gathered in all of human history. This easy-to-search online version was originally printed between 1907 and 1912 in fifteen hard copy volumes.
- New Catholic EncyclopediaIncludes articles on theology, philosophy, history, saints, and musicians; also biographies of contemporary religious figures. Includes the 2nd edition, the jubilee volume ("The Wojtyla Years") and the supplements for 2009 and 2010.