Skip to main content
Banner Image

Health Law Research

Guide to basic health law research.

Health and Science Journals

 
Medical Journal ArticlesWhen doing research on health law topics, it is often useful, or even necessary to make use of primary source material in the health science field. Unlike the field of law, where the primary sources of information are found in statutes and case law, medical science relies on journal articles as a communication medium because they are published much more quickly than books, thereby rapidly disseminating the latest medical information. Textbooks are relied on secondarily, to provide a standard overview of a particular medical practice area, such as pediatrics or neurology. Since journal articles are the major source of current medical information, the subject indexes to these articles are extremely important. Medical indexes are highly sophisticated, in order to be sure that health care providers will be able to easily find every relevant article on a topic. Consult a reference librarian for information on indices relating to particular health fields

 

Academic Search Complete - The most extensive database of scholarly literature available for DePaul users. Indexes over 13,000 journals, most of which have full-text access. The database covers a wide range of disciplines, including the physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.

Contemporary Women Issues (1992- ) - More than 1500 sources published by over 200 organizations around the world. Coverage begins with sources from 1992 and expands through the present with more than 150 periodicals in addition to non-periodical source publications. Sources provide information dealing with women's issues in over 190 nations. Access is provided on an annual subscription basis.

Ethnic Newswatch – Is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes articles editorials, columns, and reviews which provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.


After having searched all the above databases, Check Find Journals by Title - To locate subscriptions that include the journal you are seeking. If you find a citation to a journal DePaul does not have a subscription to, you can use place a request via the ILLiad interlibrary loan service.
 
Google Scholar- provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources for articles,theses, books,abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional organizations, online repositories, universities and other websites..
 

The University libraries web page includes links to electronic subscriptions on covering a variety of research subjects.  Below are some of the featured sources.

Electronic Sources:

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

            Indexes scholarly journals in many medical disciplines; with full text. 

PubMed   

 Indexes biomedical journals from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Also links to molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data. 

 

Social Sciences

Social Sciences Index (1983-   ) (Lincoln Park and Loop Campus Libraries- print ONLY) 
Indexes articles in all areas of the social sciences, from 350 English-language journals. It covers anthropology, ethnic studies, economics, environment, geography, health, law and criminology, public administration, political science, psychology, sociology, urban studies and women's studies.

 

  
 
Health: