Top Article Databases for Health Sciences
-
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers nursing, biomedicine, alternative medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines. Provides full text access to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, research instruments and clinical trials.
-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals, dissertations, books and book chapters in all areas of psychology. Many full-text articles; some articles have abstracts only.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, medicine, and arts and humanities.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text articles for well over 1,000 journals in science, health and the social sciences.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndexes biomedical journals from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Also links to molecular biology databases of DNA/protein sequences and 3-D structure data. Freely available to the public.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education. This is a great place to get started or to research topics that span different disciplines.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals in many medical disciplines; with full text. Dates Covered: 1984-present.
-
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Indexes consumer health magazines, newsletters, and pamphlets; also provides drug information and includes the Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
Dates Covered: 1984-present. -
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Good resource for topics intersecting health and social sciences.
-
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus is the main database for finding Physical Activity & Exercise related literature. It contains more than 670 full-text journals, Books, Book chapters, Conference proceedings, Journal articles and more.
-
MathSciNet (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the AMS's two publications: Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Includes abstracts from more than 3100 mathematical journals and many thousands of books, conference proceedings, theses, and technical reports indexes.
Dates Covered: 1940-present. -
UpToDate This link opens in a new windowFind physician-authored evidence-based information intended to support clinical decision-making at the point-of-care.
