Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Use this database as an entry point into the larger EBSCO search platform where you can search across multiple databases. Here's a sample search link
you can launch which can then be modified according to your needs and interests, e.g., by adding the title of a specific film or the name of an actor..additional keywords such as "cold war"...mother OR maternal...humor...music...etc.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
You can search this database individually or as part of a comprehensive search across all other EBSCO databases.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Use this database as an entry point into the larger ProQuest search platform where you can search across multiple databases. Here's a sample search link
you can launch which can then be modified according to your needs and interests.
New York Times Historical Content This link opens in a new window
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text from 1851 to 2010--a good way to discover reviews of Hitchcock films as published at the time of their theatrical releases.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890-1982. There is little to no online full-text of these magazines. Copies of articles will typically need to be requested via ILLiad.
JSTOR: Film Studies
Full text coverage of a dozen, major journals in film studies, including Cinema Journal and Film Quarterly.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
100+ years of trade and popular magazines catering to the film industry and film goers. Includes the Variety archive. Ideal for primary research looking at contemporaneous articles appearing when films were released.