Search for Books
Search the Library Catalog to find books on your topic:
- Country names can always be searched as subject terms (Pakistan, Uganda, etc.)
- Use the terms war AND conflict
- Use the subject words: Politics and government
- The word "History" is another useful term to use in your search
- Check the dates in the subject heading, and check the date the book was published -- but don't use dates in your search
Articles and Other Scholarly Writing
Use the sources listed below to find material about your topic
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present. - Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed and other scholarly journals, including those covering areas of engineering, public affairs, public policy and international affairs.
Dates Covered: 1970-present. - Politics Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Covers international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. It forms part of the Social Science Premium Collection.
Dates covered: 1914-present. - Sociology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), Sociological Abstracts, and the Sociology Database. It covers international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields and provides full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more. It forms part of the Social Science Premium Collection.
Dates covered: 1952-present. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Covers public affairs, policy & politics, international affairs & statistics. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world, journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books and dissertations on all time periods of world history, excluding the United States and Canada; for those countries use the database America: History & Life. "Dates covered" refers to publication dates included; all historic eras are addressed, from B.C. to present day.
Dates Covered: 1954-present.
Scholarly or Not?
Journal of Sport History vs. Sports Illustrated
Which one is scholarly? See our Scholarly Sources Guide!