Finding Journal Articles
Search these specialized search engines for scholarly/academic articles on your topic.
- ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. This database covers business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.
Dates Covered: 1971-present - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Academic Search Complete
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.
Extent: Multidisciplinary - Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for Business Source Ulitmate
Comprehensive coverage of journals and trade publications in all business-related disciplines. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, Harvard Business Review, and Harvard Faculty Seminar Videos.
Dates Covered: 1886-present.
*Upgraded from Business Source Complete in July 2024* - ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Preview the new look for ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center)
The world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences and is the largest education database in the world. It includes over 1 million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. It is also available as part of of ProQuest Education Collection.
Dates covered: 1966-present. - Hein Online This link opens in a new windowIndexes law reviews and other legal journals; with full-image articles.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowCovers public affairs, policy & politics, international affairs & statistics. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world, journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
- Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis resource includes content from across the social sciences as well as deep coverage of sociology, political science, criminal justice, education and public policy. Incorporates PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) content.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Includes Social Services Abstracts, and forms part of the Sociology Collection.
Dates Covered: 1952-present.
Extent: Multidisciplinary
Conducting Research: Tutorials and Guides
- Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate StudentsThis video created by librarians at North Carolina State University provides a detailed understanding of what a literature review is and the steps involved in the process. Viewing this video will demystify this academic endeavor.
- Scholarly Sources: A How-To GuideThis guide provides a constructive visual tour through the sections of a scholarly article.
- Ulrich's International Periodicals This link opens in a new windowComprehensive directory of journals and magazines that are published worldwide. Indicates whether a publication is recognized as being "peer-reviewed", also known as "refereed".
- Creating Search Alerts in EBSCOHostKeep current about trends and developments in your field by setting up search alerts in databases. This video explains how to schedule alerts in EBSCOHost databases including PsycINFO.