Encyclopedias
- Leadership in Nonprofit OrganizationsHandbook of theory and practice.
- International Encyclopedia of Organization StudiesProvides an overview of many of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterize this diverse field of organization studies.
- Handbook of Community PracticeEncompasses community development, organizing, planning, and social change grounded in participatory and empowerment practice including social change, social and economic development.
Directories & Ratings
- GuidestarDirectory of nonprofit organizations including IRS filings. Free registration required.
- CharityNavigatorAnalyzes the financial performance, governance, and openness and awards ratings of one to four stars.
- Intelligent PhilanthropyEvaluates nonprofit performance.
- CharityWatchProfessional association of individuals and organizations devoted to improving the management and governance capacity of nonprofits.
Nonprofit Websites
- npENGAGECollection of blogs of interest to nonprofit analysis, fund raising, marketing, and management.
Why Use Encyclopedias?
Background sources will help you:
- Learn important dates and events around your topic
- Browse a chronology or timeline for your topic
- Discover what scholars are talking about when they talk about your topic
- Find out who the experts are: who researches and writes about your topic
- Explore keywords and subject-specific vocabulary that can be used for database searches
- Find bibliographies that lead to additional resources