Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Work Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Counseling This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in counseling.
Encyclopedia of Homelessness This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the current situation in the United States with a comparative sampling of homelessness around the world. Key themes include causes, lifestyle issues, health issues & services, legal issues & advocacy, governmental policies & programs, research approaches, and public perceptions of homelessness.
Encyclopedia of Human Services and Diversity This link opens in a new window
Examines themes and strategies for human services professionals who work with diverse populations, including differences in ability and disability, age, education level, ethnicity, gender, geographic origin, religion, sexual orientation, socioeconomic class, and values.
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America This link opens in a new window
Provides basic information about the history of social welfare in Canada, Mexico, and the United States.
Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of topics in the field of social work. Also contains brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work.
Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery This link opens in a new window
Covers contemporary and historical issues in the AOD (alcohol & other drugs) field that would be of interest to those in prevention, treatment, or recovery studies or practice.
Encyclopedia of World Poverty This link opens in a new window
Explores poverty in various regions of the world, and examine the difficulties associated with the definition and measurement of poverty, along with its causes and effects.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is an online collection of books and other full-text materials that provide authoritative information on how to perform hundreds of research methods. The how-tos for carrying out every step of your research project are here.