Magazines
-
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.
Dates Covered: 1890-1982. -
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes the following publications for dates before 1960: Saturday Evening Post, the Nation, Foreign Affairs, and National Geographic.
Newspapers
-
New York Times Historical Content This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the complete paper version of the newspaper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format going back to 1851.
Dates Covered: 1851-2017. -
Times Digital Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic access to full-page images of every issue of The Times (London) from 1785 to 2019.
-
Chicago Tribune-Historical EditionContains full text and page images of the entire contents of the Chicago Tribune, including classified ads, advertisements, obituaries, and comics.
Dates Covered: 1849-1990
-
African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection includes more than 70 newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in Sub-Saharan Africa offer an unrivaled viewpoint into a time of drastic change. A wide range of colonial era viewpoints is chronicled in titles from Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Mozambique, Nigeria, South Africa, Zimbabwe and other locales.
-
Chicago Defender - Historical Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text of this historically important African American newspaper from 2010 back to the first issue.
Dates Covered: 1910-2010. -
South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection includes colonial-era titles published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka from 1864-1922. Among the key publications: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka). Languages include English, Bengali, and Gujarati.
Pamphlets
-
Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection1545-1900. Comprises the earlier collections of the Foreign Office and the Colonial Office. Both include rare publications from overseas. The Foreign Office Collection consists largely of pamphlets sent back to London by British ambassadors to help with policy formation. It is particularly rich in material related to South America, the Near East, and to the various great European political "questions" of the 19th century. The Colonial Office Collection is chiefly comprised of pamphlets sent back from Britain's colonies, including some unique early material from Australasia.
Academic Search Complete Tips
To make your search more relevant:
- Limit by Date
- Limit to Magazines & Newspapers
Browse a specific publication:
- Click on Publications.
- You can also search within that specific publication.
