Philosophy Research Guide: Encyclopedias & Reference

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) is a peer-reviewed, scholarly resource. Most of the articles in the IEP are original, signed contributions by specialized philosophers.

Covers topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment. 4th ed.
Proceeded by Encyclopedia of bioethics / edited by Stephen G. Post

Covers important authors and movements in Continental Philosophy. Arranged in chronological order, the volume begins with the founding texts of Classical Idealism and concludes with Post-structuralism.

Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.

Includes entries on philosophers, concepts, terms, historical periods, subjects and the cultural context of philosophy in the Middle Ages.

Over 700 entries on all areas of ethics including the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in Normative Ethics, Metaethics, and Practical Ethics, as well as major philosophical and religious traditions. All entries are authored and peer-reviewed.

A-Z entries include clear definitions of all the key terms used in Marx's writings, coverage of their German origins, and detailed synopses of all his key works. Also includes entries on Marx's major philosophical and political influences and contemporaries.

Surveys the history of Western thought and culture. Explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital.
Extent: Multidisciplinary

Specialized encyclopedia useful for a wide variety of topics in the social sciences and humanities.

Authoritative, open access encyclopedia refereed by an editorial board and constantly updated.
Access note: Freely available to the public.

Find and search a range of dictionary and encyclopedia articles on philosophy topics. Entries are arranged in alphabetical order, from Peter Abelard to Zionism.

Contains up-to-date bibliographies and thorough introductions to a range of major topics for each area of study. Handbooks collections exist for Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, and Sociology.

Selection of individual DePaul-owned encyclopedia titles from the series "Routledge Handbooks in Philosophy"