Guides: American Literature Research Guide: Primary Sources

Primary Sources for the Study of American Literature

This page contains primary sources specifically useful for the study of American Literature.

See the How to Find Primary Resources page for additional primary resources, as well as a definition of primary sources.

Newspapers and Magazines

New York Times Historical Content This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the complete paper version of the newspaper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format going back to 1851.
Dates Covered: 1851-2017.
Extent: Multidisciplinary
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text archives of Harper's Weekly covering the latter half of the nineteenth century and the early twentieth century.
Godey's Lady's Book This link opens in a new window
Published from 1830-1898, Godey?s Lady?s Book was one of the first, and most successful, American women's magazines. It is an important resource for the study of 19th century American life and culture, and contains a wide variety of content including essays, stories, fashion, illustrations and sheet music.

African Americans

American Slave Narratives: an Online Anthology
A sampling of the interviews with over 2,300 former slaves from across the American South by writers and journalists under the aegis of the Works Progress Administration.
Making of America at Cornell University
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century

Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Collection of primary source documents focusing on the abolitionist movement and the conflicts within it, the anti- and pro-slavery arguments of the period, and the debates on the subject of colonization. Explores the various components of the debate with a focus on economic, gender, legal, religious, and government issues. Also includes bibliographies, biographies, chronologies and scholarly essays.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Includes the Black Panther. Database focusing on the study of the historical development of black culture. Includes monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text coverage of newspapers from the 1800s and early 1900s. Includes information on black history and culture, including first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day.

Chicago Defender - Current Issues
Historically important African American newspaper. Back issues available on microfilm.

19th Century Primary Sources

There are many examples of digitized primary sources out there. Some are freely available; others require a subscription. Below are a few of the resources.

Making of America at Cornell University
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.

HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text archives of Harper's Weekly covering the latter half of the nineteenth century and the early twentieth century.

Library of Congress: American Memory
American Memory provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity

20th Century Primary Sources

There are many examples of digitized primary sources out there. Some are freely available; others require a subscription. Below are a few of the resources.

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Collection of streaming videos focusing on American history. Includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries.

Modernist Journals Project
Our primary mission is to produce digital editions of culturally significant magazines from around the early 20th century and make them freely available to the public on our website
Library of Congress: American Memory
American Memory provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity

Selected Author-Specific Sites

In some cases, manuscripts and letters of authors may be digitized and freely available. Below are a few examples. Try a Google search to identify others.

Walt Whitman Archive
The Walt Whitman Archive is a comprehensive resource about Whitman's life and work. Includes letters and more.
Edgar Allen Poe Digital Collection
Digitized collection of letters, manuscripts, photos, and more from the Henry Ransom Center at the University of Texas, Austin.
David Foster Wallace Digital Collection
Includes a digitized preview of drafts and workbooks from the Pale King. David Foster Wallace's archives are housed at the Henry Ransom Center at University of Texas Austin.
Edgar Allen Poe Society of Baltimore
Includes transcriptions of letters and works by Edgar Allen Poe.