Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Covers the field of men's studies as it relates to America's democratic political system, domestic and foreign policies, and capitalist economic system, as well as the "private" sphere of the home and domestic life.
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Covers the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced the study of activism.
Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories This link opens in a new window
Serves as a springboard for further research and provides overview entries on key people, issues, theories, terms, concerns, and methodologies in feminist literary theory.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society This link opens in a new window
Focuses on gender scholarship within areas of social research. Topics covered include: art, popular culture, sports, organizations, body image, health, economics, environment, gender identities & roles, politics, public policy, social movements, ethnicity, education, sexuality and reproduction.
SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies This link opens in a new window
Focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism This link opens in a new window
Examines theories of race and racism in the modem era and includes articles on significant feminist theories dealing with race and ethnicity.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender This link opens in a new window
Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window
Focuses on women and the civilizations and societies in which Islam has played a historic role. Surveys all facets of life (society, economy, politics, religion, the arts, popular culture, sports, health, science, medicine, environment, and so forth) of women in these societies.
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
Covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.
International Encyclopedia of Men and Masculinities This link opens in a new window
Guide to the current state of scholarship about men, masculinities, and gender around the world and across three dimensions: areas of personal and social life, academic disciplines, and cultural and historical contexts and formations.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
More than 4,000 articles and 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. 2nd edition (2015).
Multimedia Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference work on the status and prospects of women worldwide; includes 99 video clips from news agencies.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable collection of more than 100 encyclopedias and handbooks from SAGE.