Searching
Search the databases by keywords. Combine keywords with AND and use OR for synonyms or related terms. For instance:
(HIV OR AIDS) AND prevention
AIDS AND (minority OR ethnic) AND groups
A few tips:
- Use " " if you are searching for an exact phrase, e.g. "Human immunodeficiency virus" or "United States"
- Put each concept on a different line/search box in the databases
- Look at the subjects assigned to articles for more keywords to use in searching
Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present. -
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications on gender and sexuality issues in many academic fields.
Dates Covered: 1970-present. -
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals in many medical disciplines; with full text. Dates Covered: 1984-present.
-
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Includes Social Services Abstracts, and forms part of the Sociology Collection.
Dates Covered: 1952-present.
Where's the Full Text?
If a PDF or Full Text option isn't available...
1. Click on Find Full Text @ DePaul
2. Choose View Online
3. If these options aren't available, choose Get It to request via Interlibrary Loan
*Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain an electronic copy of any article we do not have online.
Google Scholar
Want Google Scholar to detect when DePaul has access to an article?
1. Go to scholar.google.com
2. Click on Settings > Library Links
3. Search for DePaul; select Find full text @ DePaul University