Guides: PSC 248 (Adibe): Conflict, Resolution and Peace: Find News &amp; Data

News & Current Events

Explore news coverage from across the world to understand some of the ways the legacy of South African apartheid impacts the present moment.

Access World News
Contains local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources including newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, newswires, and news videos.

New York Times Current Content Searching across multiple databases, it provides full-text coverage to The New York Times print and online editions, as well as videos and New York Times Magazines.Dates Covered: 1980-present.
Chicago Tribune Current Content Contains full text from the Chicago Tribune. Historical years can be accessed via the Chicago Tribune Historical Content collection. Dates Covered: 1996-present.
Wall Street Journal Major daily US business newspaper. Covers the Eastern print edition, the online edition and the magazine. Also includes the WSJ Pro content in: bankruptcy, central banking, cyber security, financial regulation, and private equity. Dates Covered: 1984-present (print).

Correlates of War Data Sets
The Correlates of War Project was founded in 1963 by J. David Singer, a political scientist at the University of Michigan. The original and continuing goal of the project has been the systematic accumulation of scientific knowledge about war.

UNdata
Provides access to a variety of statistical databases from the United Nations. Covering a wide range of topics including Agriculture, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
Access note: Freely available to the public.

World Values Survey
The World Values Survey (www.worldvaluessurvey.org) is a global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life.
The WVS consists of nationally representative surveys conducted in almost 100 countries which contain almost 90 percent of the world’s population, using a common questionnaire.

Data.gov
Provides descriptions of U.S., State and some municipal datasets (metadata) and information about how to access and download statistical and data sets from open governmental sources.

Pew Research Center Databank
Data archives available to the public for secondary analysis from People and the Press, Hispanic Center, Global Attitudes, Internet & American Life, and Social & Demographic Trends research projects. Register for a free account to access data.

ProPublica Data
ProPublica is an independent, nonprofit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Printed volumes available in Reference at Lincoln Park and Loop at R.317.3 U58S.
U.S. Census Bureau
Offers interactive online data access through the American FactFinder button.
Access note: Freely available to the public. Government resources may be unexpectedly unavailable or altered in alignment with current federal administration priorities.