Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Trial Practice

Federal and IL State

Black's Law Dictionary

Black's Law Dictionary | Thomson Reuters

Black's Law Dictionary (Available on Westlaw Edge as well)

American Jurisprudence 2d

American Jurisprudence, 2d | Legal Solutions

AMERICAN JURISPRUDENCE 2D -

(Legal Encyclopedia w/link to Catalog above) is 

AVAILABLE ON WESTLAW EDGE & LEXIS PLUS AS WELL

 

TITLES BELOW ARE AVAILABLE ON WESTLAW EDGE AS WELL

American Jurisprudence Pleading and Pra... | Legal Solutions

American Jurisprudence Pleading & Practice Forms Annotated

 

American Jurisprudence Trials | Legal Solutions

American Jurisprudence Trials contains articles authored by practicing attorneys and covers all areas of litigation. The articles provide trial-tested litigation tools to secure better settlements and verdicts.                                                                       

 

 American Jurisprudence Proof of Facts (... | Legal Solutions

American Jurisprudence. Proof of Facts. 1st-3rd.-  What to prove and how to prove it to win your case.  Written by well-know judges, attorneys and experts in technical, scientific and medical fields. Explains how to determine quickly and confidently the facts essential to winning a case, and how to prove them for a wide range of civil litigation and selected criminal defense topics, including: personal injury/torts, employment litigation (discrimination, harassment and wrongful termination), real estate litigation, business torts, and commercial litigation. Also highlights which cases to avoid due to difficulties or failures in proof. Includes strategies and aids that cover every stage of trial preparation. (in 3rd Series)            

Bender's Forms of Discovery

Bender's Forms of Discovery | LexisNexis Store

Bender's Forms of Discovery

MOST CURRENT BENDER'S FORMS OF DISCOVERY

AVAILABLE ON LEXIS PLUS

General Secondary Sources

Using General Secondary Sources such as Legal Encyclopedias - American Jurisprudence 2d (A National Legal Encyclopedia) - can give you a good overview of a topicNutshells give a more brief overview of a subject/topic while Hornbooks are more scholarly treatises on a certain subject/topic.  These can often be invaluable when you are preparing for trial in a certain practice area.

Two titles of interest to both students and young lawyers (on this page) include:   

  • "Anatomy of a Trial: A Handbook for Young Lawyers"   
  • "A Student's Guide to Hearsay"  

These can be valuable guides to students and lawyers who are just entering the legal profession.

 

 

MOST CURRENT NUTSHELLS & HORNBOOKS ARE ONLINE VIA WEST ACADEMIC DATABASE

IMPORTANT:

MOST CURRENT NUTSHELLS & HORNBOOKS are Available In The 

"WEST ACADEMIC STUDY AIDS" DATABASE

Via Our TREATISES, PRACTICE GUIDES & STUDY AIDS DATABASE LIST.  

Registering for an Account may be necessary to check out these materials online

Black Letter Outline on Civil Procedure

Study Aids - West Academic

 

The WEST ACADEMIC STUDY AIDS Database 

off our Law Library's Database List for TREATISES, PRACTICE GUIDES & STUDY AIDS (last database off this list)

Contains Many Resources (Nutshells, Hornbooks .... as mentioned elsewhere on this page) with some Listed Under the "SERIES" TAB 

to Locate the "Black Letter Outlines Series" - LOOK TO "SERIES" TAB & SELECT BLACK LETTER OUTLINES

 

 BLACK LETTER OUTLINE ON CIVIL PROCEDURE (is part of the BLACK LETTER OUTLINE "SERIES") 

Registering for an Account may be necessary to check out these materials online

Anatomy of a Trial: A Handbook for Young Lawyers

MOST CURRENT EDITION OF THIS TITLE:

ANATOMY OF A TRIAL:  A HANDBOOK FOR YOUNG LAWYERS

IS AVAILABLE ON LEXIS PLUS

Student's Guide to Hearsay

Persuasion: A Litigator's Art

How to Handle an Appeal 3rd ed. (1990) - A MORE CURRENT 4TH ED. EXISTS - However, DePaul does not own.

Attacking Adverse Experts

Effective Depositions

Library Catalog Search - Trial Practice

TO LOCATE MORE MATERIALS, LOCATED IN THE LAW LIBRARY ITSELF, PLEASE FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS BELOW: