Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding journal articles
Try these library databases to find journal and magazine articles on your topic:
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Best for articles on popular music, music education, jazz and performance.
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Best for articles on popular music and performance.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Search for reviews, interviews, and feature articles from popular music magazines focusing on rock and other genres.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Best for articles on North American history; all historic eras are covered.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles across the social sciences, including sociology, politics, education, criminal justice, and linguistics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Best for scholarly articles on musicology, ethnomusicology, and music theory.
Newspapers are a good source for music reviews, interviews, information about venues, and more:
New York Times Historical Content This link opens in a new window
Dates Covered: 1851-2010.
Chicago Tribune Historical Content This link opens in a new window
Dates Covered: 1849-present
Chicago Defender - Historical Edition This link opens in a new window
An historically important African American newspaper; dates covered: 1910-1975.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. ethnic, minority, and native press content from 1960-present.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Contains local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources including newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, newswires, and news videos.
Where's the Full Text?
If a PDF or Full Text option isn't available...
1. Click on Find Full Text @ DePaul
2. Choose View Online
3. If these options aren't available, choose Get It to request via Interlibrary Loan
*Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain an electronic copy of any article we do not have online.