Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation.
The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural).
Europeana works with thousands of European archives, libraries and museums to share cultural heritage.
This website provides access to millions of books, music, artworks and more.
Gallica (Bibliotheque National de France) This link opens in a new window
Gallica, the digital library of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France (BnF), includes digitized texts, still images, and sound recordings. The BnF site also includes access to some electronic periodicals and Mandragore, a database that gives access to the library's collection of medieval illuminated manuscripts.
Access note: Freely available to the public.
You can search Google Books or HathiTrust to find published books online. If it was published before 1923, you have a good chance of finding the entire book online.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Immense, continuously updated digital collection providing enhanced search and availability of millions of public domain, in-copyright, and permissioned digitized books, federal government documents and serial publications in a variety of languages from sources such as Google Books, Internet Archive, Microsoft and initiatives at partner academic and research institutions.
Access note: Freely available to the public. Current DePaul faculty, staff and students get extra functionality when logged in such as full PDF downloads of public domain and permissioned works and options to create and share content collections. To log in, click the LOGIN button and select DePaul from the list.