HST 374 (Krainz): Emergence of Modern America, 1877-1914: Online Historical Newspapers and Magazines

Provides access to the complete paper version of the newspaper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. More recent years of the Chicago Tribune are available through the Chicago Tribune Current Content collection as well as US Newsstream (ProQuest).
Dates Covered: 1849-2010.

Provides access to the complete paper version of the newspaper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format going back to 1851.
Dates Covered: 1851-2017.

Provides electronic access to full-page images of every issue of The Times (London) from 1785 to 2019.

Provides indexing and full-text coverage of newspapers from the 1800s and early 1900s. Includes information on black history and culture, including first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day.

This resource provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers published by or for African Americans between 1827-1998. This collection features papers from more than 35 states, and was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States: Those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.

Print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada from 1828 to 2016. Includes national, local, and student publications.

Provides access to a collection of digitized newspapers originally published by incarcerated persons in United States prisons. These newspapers give readers a firsthand perspective of life in U.S. prisons, revealing the news, issues, and commentary that mattered to prisoners.
Dates Covered: 1800-2020.

This collection features ten long-running and highly influential trade and popular magazines which document all aspects of cinema going, the film industry and the evolution of television and popular culture in the US and UK.
Dates Covered: 1880-2000.

Searchable full-text archives of Harper's Weekly covering the latter half of the nineteenth century and the early twentieth century.

Provides access to the complete archive of National Geographic magazine with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.
Dates Covered: 1888-2020.