Searching
Youth criminalization is interdisciplinary, so you may find useful articles in the criminology, sociology, education, and psychology literature.
Search these databases by keywords. Combine keywords with AND and use OR for synonyms or related terms. For instance:
(juvenile OR youth) AND gangs
truancy AND ("family therapy" OR detention)
youth AND (shooting OR violence) AND prevention
A few tips:
- Use " " if you are searching for a phrase, e.g. "juvenile justice" or "United States"
- Use * to retrieve variations of words, e.g. delinqu* will retrieve delinquency or delinquent
- Use broader or alternate terms, e.g. economics for costs; "law enforcement" for police
- Put each concept on a different line/search box in the databases
- Look for the "change databases" link above the search boxes to search multiple databases at once
Databases
- Criminology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIncludes: Criminal Justice Database, and National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database. The collection also provides index and full text coverage of scholarly journals along with correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs, and other relevant material. It forms part of the Social Science Premium Collection.
Dates covered: 1975-present. - Sociology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIncludes Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), Sociological Abstracts, and the Sociology Database. It covers international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields and provides full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more. It forms part of the Social Science Premium Collection.
Dates covered: 1952-present. - ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new windowThe world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences and is the largest education database in the world. It includes over 1 million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. It is also available as part of of ProQuest Education Collection.
Dates covered: 1966-present. - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. It provides abstracts and citations to peer-reviewed literature, including journal articles, books, book chapters and theses.
Dates Covered: 1887-present. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present.
Extent: Multidisciplinary
Where's the Full Text?
If a PDF or Full Text option isn't available...
1. Click on Find Full Text @ DePaul
2. Choose View Online
3. If these options aren't available, choose Get It to request via Interlibrary Loan
*Use Interlibrary Loan to obtain an electronic copy of any article we do not have online.