Finding Articles
The academic databases listed here are a great place to find scholarly articles (and more!) that are relevant to this course. Try some of the search terms listed below to explore the literature.
Narrow your search by adding additional search terms related to your research topic. Are you researching American foreign policy towards a specific country or region? A war or policy position? A historical figure?
Article Databases
-
Politics Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Covers international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. It forms part of the Social Science Premium Collection.
Dates covered: 1914-present. -
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed and other scholarly journals, including those covering areas of engineering, public affairs, public policy and international affairs.
Dates Covered: 1970-present. -
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Dates Covered: 1887-present. -
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books and dissertations on all time periods of world history, excluding the United States and Canada; for those countries use the database America: History & Life. "Dates covered" refers to publication dates included; all historic eras are addressed, from B.C. to present day.
Dates Covered: 1954-present.
Search Terms
- American century
- American diplomacy
- American dream
- American exceptionalism
- American foreign policy
- American imperialism
- American internationalism
- Manifest Destiny
- Monroe Doctrine
- (foreign relations or foreign policy or international relations) AND United States
- Iraq War, 2003-2011
- Vietnam War, 1961-1975
- Cold War, 1945-1991