Skip to main content
Banner Image

Free or Low Cost Legal Research Sources

Free Websites

Secondary Sources explain primary sources and are very useful when trying to locate relevant primary sources.

Treatises:

Search for books related to legal subjects using WorldCat to see which library that you are affiliated with has the book or that you can ask your library to borrow it from: https://www.worldcat.org/

Journal Articles:

Search for journal articles related to legal subjects using GoogleScholar, if you sign up for an account it will search your library and provide their articles for free: https://scholar.google.com/

Encyclopedia:

Free online version is available from the Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law School: https://www.law.cornell.edu/wex/index.html

Dictionary:

Free online version of an older 2nd edition of Black's Law Dictionary: https://thelawdictionary.org/

Directory:

Free online version of Martindale Hubbell's Directory: https://www.martindale.com/

Current Awareness: Most if not all databases allow you to create an alert to new search results.

The ABA also curates a list of top legal sites every December: http://www.abajournal.com/blawg100 that includes blogs, podcasts, and twitter accounts for you to follow.

The Illinois Bar Association offers access to member Blogs, Clips, and Newsletters: https://www.isba.org/news-publications

 

Fee based Access

Ask the audience

Hein on Line is available to Illinois Bar Association members through Fastcase