University Library DePaul Library

Why are we migrating?

DePaul is member of CARLI (Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois), whose goal is to sustain a rich and diverse collection of resources for students, faculty, and researchers by sharing resources between member libraries. This is done through I-Share, an integrated library system that connects the online catalogs of all 91 CARLI member libraries around the state. Patrons can request items from the circulating collections of any I-Share Library, which are then shipped to the requesting library for pickup.

Voyager--the current application running the I-Share system--is over 25 years old and will be replaced by new library systems called Alma and Primo VE. To ensure that consortial services continue running smoothly, it is necessary that all I-Share members switch to the same system at the same time on June 24, 2020.

What is Alma and Primo VE?

Alma is an Ex Libris system that supports the tasks necessary to keep our Library in operation. This includes acquisitions, cataloging, fulfillment, e-resource management and link resolution. Alma will be used by Library staff and replaces the Library's old library system, Voyager.

Primo VE is another Ex Libris system that provides the public interface to search our Library's resources, including print, electronic and digital collections.

What are the benefits?

The new systems provide similar functionality with enhanced user experience, making it easier for the DePaul community to discover and access library resources. The back end runs more efficiently, as well, enabling library staff to enhance our acquisitions, cataloging, circulation and management of electronic resources.

What systems are affected?

Our new LibrarySearch has replaced several previous systems, including:

  • WorldCat Discovery
  • VuFind Catalog
  • Find Journals by Title

In addition, the library link resolver (Link Resolver, Open URL Server and Find Full Text @ DePaul) has been replaced with a new link resolver within Alma.

How do I use the new LibrarySearch?

Please Ask A Librarian for help finding library materials and using the LibrarySearch. Library workshops and guides will be available soon to help you navigate new library systems and get familiar with new features.

End user help is also available for many common functions in the new LibrarySearch (Primo VE).

When did the migration happen?

Our new systems went live on June 24, 2020. The Migration Timeline provides additional details and key dates.

Where can I get more information?

We will communicate updates through the Library’s Full Text blog as well as our website, so stay tuned! For more information, you may also visit CARLI’s Alma & Primo VE Migration page.

We welcome your additional questions! Please get in touch with us at: library-migration@depaul.libanswers.com.