Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News and Current Events
DePaul University provides access to current and historical content thousands of newspapers from United States and across the globe. Using the library databases allows you to avoid paywall issues that you find by searching the internet for news.
Below are some newspaper databases.
My colleague also has a research guide dedicated to current events research.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Contains local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources including newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, newswires, and news videos.
Alternative Press Index & Archive This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
Dates Covered: 1969 - Present
Chicago Sun-Times This link opens in a new window
The Sun-Times covers politics and government on the local, state and national level.
Chicago Tribune Current Content This link opens in a new window
Contains full text from the Chicago Tribune. Historical years can be accessed via the Chicago Tribune Historical Content collection.
Dates Covered: 1996-present.
New York Times Historical Content This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the complete paper version of the newspaper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format going back to 1851.
Dates Covered: 1851-2017.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Major daily US business newspaper. Covers the Eastern print edition, the online edition and the magazine. Also includes the WSJ Pro content in: bankruptcy, central banking, cyber security, financial regulation, and private equity.
Dates Covered: 1984-present (print).