About Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are a great start to reviewing a topic before engaging in deeper research. These texts will provide a quick overview of terms, movements, places and people in a specific topical area.
Encyclopedias
The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society by
The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society discusses media around the world in their varied forms--newspapers, magazines, radio, television, film, books, music, websites, social media, mobile media--and describes the role of each in both mirroring and shaping society. This encyclopedia provides a thorough overview of media within social and cultural contexts, exploring the development of the mediated communication industry, mediated communication regulations, and societal interactions and effects. This reference work will look at issues such as free expression and government regulation of media; how people choose what media to watch, listen to, and read; and how the influence of those who control media organizations may be changing as new media empower previously unheard voices. The role of media in society will be explored from international, multidisciplinary perspectives via approximately 700 articles drawing on research from communication and media studies, sociology, anthropology, social psychology, politics, and business.
ISBN: 9781483375533Publication Date: 2019-12-17
- 21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook This link opens in a new windowProvides an introduction to the discipline and a number of different approaches to studying communication. Focuses on the processes, characteristics, relationships, and forms of communication.
- Encyclopedia of Gender in Media This link opens in a new windowExamines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society.
- Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications This link opens in a new windowExplores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
- Encyclopedia of Media Violence This link opens in a new windowEntries examine theory, research, and debates as they relate to media violence.
- Encyclopedia of New Media This link opens in a new windowReference work in the field of new media, covering topics such as broadband, content filtering, cyberculture, cyberethics, digital divide, freenet, MP3, privacy, telemedicine, viruses, and wireless networks.
- Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics This link opens in a new windowExplores how the rise of social media is altering politics both in the United States and in key moments, movements, and places around the world.
- Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media This link opens in a new windowExamines the variety of formats and experiences that comprise social movement media. Thematic essays address selected issues such as human rights media, indigenous peoples' media, and environmentalist media, and on key concepts widely used in the field such as alternative media, citizens' media, and community media.
- SAGE Handbook of Digital Journalism This link opens in a new windowAddresses challenges to capture, examine, and understand the current news environment.