University Library DePaul Library

Film and Motion Picture Resources

Public Domain Review 

The Public Domain Review hosts collections of film, images, and audio that are in the public domain. This is great resource for students and faculty studying film and media. You can browse the film collection by time, genre, content, and copyright type. Each film selection contains a summary of the work. Films are downloaded as mp4 files.  

Library of Congress Digital Collections

The Library of Congress Digital Collections provides online access to film, audio and images to the general public. There massive collections in grouped into smaller theme specific collections to aid users in discovery these digital materials. Users do not have to create an account to download media. The media is available for download in a variety of formats including: gif, jpg, mp3, and mp4.

Moving Image Archive

The Moving Image Archive is part of the Internet Archive. This site contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from a wide range of genres that includes full-length films, daily alternative news, and YouTube videos. Users can search the archive by titles and keywords or browse collections by date, view, creator, and language.  Users do not have to create an account to download media. The media is available for download in a variety of formats including mp4.

Stock Footage Archive

The Stock Footage archive is also a part of the Internet Archive. The Stock Footage archive is a great resource for raw footage to be edited into a new project. All media on this site is submitted by the public and requires a Creative Commons license. This site includes public domain footage. Users can search the archive by titles and keywords or browse collections by date, view, creator, and language.  Users do not have to create an account to download media. The media is available for download in a variety of formats including mp4.

 

Image Resources

Image Resources

The Library of Congress has massive digital collections available online and the Free to Use and Reuse Sets are curated groups of images available for download without license restrictions. The Library of Congress provides image citations in Chicago, MLA, and APA styles. Images can be downloaded in the following formats: jpg, gif, or tiff.

Flickr Creative Commons allows users to search for images based on the type of license. The site provides a brief description of each type of Creative Commons license. Users must create an account to download most images. The site also includes public domain images which do not require an account to download.

An online collection of digital images. You can search using keywords or browse collections.  Collections are curated by registered site users. This site does not require attribution but the site provides credit information if needed. The site provides an embed code for including credits on your website. There is no account required to search or download.

An online collection of digital images. All photos published on Reshot are free to use, both for commercial and noncommercial purposes. You can search using keywords or browse packs.  Packs are collections of images curated by the site. To download a pack you must send a tweet. This site does not require attribution. There is no account required to search or download.

Audio Resources

Audio Resources

On this site you can filter searches by artist, album, title, genre, duration, and creative commons licenses. There is no account required. The download format is mp3. 

On this site you can search or browse by title, artist, genre, mood, duration, attribution (license). There is no account required to search or download The download format is mp3.

You can browse and search by genre on this site. This site requires attribution for any music used and limits the way music can be used. There is no account required to search or download. The download format is mp3.

You can browse and search by mood, film genre, music genre and instrument. This site requires attribution and limits the way music can be used. The free downloads are 90 second audio clips. You must create an account to download and the download is a zip file which includes the mp3 and license.

On this site you can browse and search by genre, instrument and style. You can filter search results by license, date, and limit to instrumentals. This site requires attribution and limits the way music can be used. There is no account required to search or download. The download format is mp3.