Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
E-Books in the Humanities
American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922 This link opens in a new window
American Antiquarian Society collection of 3,500 slavery and abolition titles includes books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera.
Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window
Collection of poetry and fiction produced in the Caribbean during the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.
EEBO (Early English Books Online) This link opens in a new window
EEBO allows users to view and search digital facsimiles of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and other works printed in English from 1473-1700. Containing 125,000 titles, this collection includes the first book printed in English by William Caxton, early quarto editions of Shakespeare's plays with the renowned First Folio edition of 1623 and the earliest editions of classics such as Chaucer's Canterbury Tales and Malory's Morte d'Arthur.
Gallica (Bibliotheque National de France) This link opens in a new window
Gallica, the digital library of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France (BnF), includes digitized texts, still images, and sound recordings. The BnF site also includes access to some electronic periodicals and Mandragore, a database that gives access to the library's collection of medieval illuminated manuscripts.
Access note: Freely available to the public.
Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Literature Online portal gives access to the complete suite of tools and resources, including author profiles, full-text literature collections, scholarly criticism, reference tools, audio recordings of Shakespeare's plays, video of poetry readings and allows for users to create personalized accounts to save searches and citations.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text of over 400 Oxford University Press e-books in the Literature, Biology and Social Work areas of this collection.
South and Southeast Asian Literature This link opens in a new window
Collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas. Focuses on works composed during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new window
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a database of Greek literature from Homer through the 15th Century. It contains more than 105 million words from over 10,000 works associated with 4,000 authors. Search, analyze, and read through these texts in the original Greek.
Access note: Registration is required for full access.