University Library DePaul Library

Other Streaming Sources

There are many sites that offer freely streamed videos that can be very valuable resources.  Please keep in mind that the quality of the image, the player controls, and the allowable usage for these streaming videos can vary.  Content may be added or removed without notice.

DePaul University is not responsible for the content of these sites

American Memory provides free online access to sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.

Annenberg Learner uses media and telecommunications to advance teaching in American schools. It is part of The Annenberg Foundation and advances the Foundation's goal of encouraging the development of more effective ways to share ideas and knowledge.

Archive of American Television has conducted over 700 long-form interviews (over 3000 hours) with the legends of television. These interviews chronicle the birth and growth of American TV History.  Archive  continues to produce new interviews every year.

C-Span Video Library: The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 170,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives.

Hulu is an online video service that offers hit TV shows, movies, and clips.  Hulu includes a large selection of videos from many large content companies, such as FOX, NBC, National Geographic, ABC, Paramount and PBS. There are often advertisements before and during the video.

The Internet Archives' Moving Images Library offers thousands of free movies, including classic full-length films, news broadcasts, propaganda films and cartoons. Many of these videos are available for free download.  Two collections of note are the Prelinger Archives (ephemera collection, 1927-1987) and the Open Source Movies collection which contains many foreign language sub-collections.

Learnerstv.com provides thousands of downloadable video lectures on a wide variety of topics. The lectures come from courses conducted by faculty from reputable universities around the world.

PBS Video offers streamed award winning national programing and locally produced shows such as Bill Moyers, NOVA, FRONTLINE, History Detectives, Nature, and many others. 

You will need the latest version of Flash to view (click here for a free download)

WGBH Open Vault is the home of WGBH Media Library and Archives (MLA). It provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. It currently houses nearly 1 million audio, video film, and digital assets dating back to 1947.

TED Talks: TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started in 1984 as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, and Design. This site features TED talks on a wide spectrum of topics.

YouTube allows users to watch and share original videos worldwide.  YouTube allows people to easily upload and share video clips.