University Library DePaul Library

Limiting your search to Articles

By default, WorldCat Local returns a variety of formats--books, articles, media, etc. If you are only interested in articles, try the following:

1. Search for your topic

2. From your search results page, checkmark Articles on the left-hand side.

Return to Top

What databases are included?

By default, WorldCat Local searches the following databases as part of basic search:

  • Academic Search Complete
  • ArticleFirst
  • Business Source Complete
  • Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
  • Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
  • Electronic Books
  • Electronic Collections Online
  • ERIC
  • Essay & General Literature Index
  • Humanities Abstracts
  • MEDLINE
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • Newspaper Source Plus
  • OAIster
  • PsycArticles
  • WorldCat Dissertations and Theses

Return to Top

List of Databases Available via Advanced Search

The following databases can be added to your search, via the Advanced Search Screen

  • ABI/Inform
  • ACM Digital Libraries
  • Annual Reviews
  • Alternative Press Index
  • Alternative Press Index Archive
  • America:History and Life
  • ArchiveGrid
  • Accessible Archives
  • ATLA Religion Database
  • Art Full Text
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
  • Biological and Agricultural Index Plus
  • CINAHL with Full Text
  • Communication Abstracts
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete
  • Consumer Health Complete
  • Congressional Record Permanent Collection
  • Educational Administration Abstracts
  • GPO Monthly Catalog
  • Genderwatch
  • GreenFile
  • Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
  • Historical Abstracts
  • International Index to Music Periodicals
  • International Index to Performing Arts
  • Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts
  • Military & Government Collection
  • Music Index
  • OmniFile Full Text Select
  • Oxford Scholarship Online
  • Professional Development Collection
  • PAIS International
  • PsycCritiques
  • Philosopher's Index
  • Proquest Dissertations and Theses
  • PsycInfo
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
  • Regional Business News
  • Social Services Abstracts
  • Social Sciences Full Text
  • Sociological Abstracts

Return to Top

Adding and Removing Databases To Your Search

To add or remove databases to your search:

  1. Click on Advanced Search (located under the Basic Search box)

2. Click on Add/Remove Databases

This will take you to a listing of databases searchable via WorldCat Local.

Keep in mind:

  • The more databases you select to search, the longer your search will take.  It's generally best to limit your search to 10 or fewer databases.
  • For some databases, WorldCat Local has to go out at the time of your search and retrieve the results.  This may result in slower response time.
  • When you choose to search multiple databases at once, you lose database-specific functionality. 

Return to Top

Currency/Dates of Coverage in WorldCat Local

For the most current articles or for researching current topics, try directly searching our databases.

Publications included in WorldCat Local will almost always have a 1 month lag, but in some cases, the lag could be longer if the publisher has chosen to place an embargo on its content.

Getting the Full Text of the Article

On your search results page, you will generally see one of two options for an article:

1. View Now link: Clicking on the View Now link takes you directly to options for accessing the full text.

2. If a View Now link is not available, click into the record to find options for getting the full text.

Once you are in the record, click on Find Fulltext@DePaul. Here you'll see additional options for getting full text, including a link to Request via ILLiad if the full text is not available online.


Return to Top

When it's best to use a database instead of WorldCat Local

Use an article database (PsycInfo, MLA International Bibilography), when...

1. You are researching a current event or need current articles on a topic.

2. You would like to be able to use special features, specific to that database interface.

3. If you have established that many of the databases in your topic area are not included in WorldCat Local. For example, many of our specialized business databases are not included in WorldCat Local.

4. If you would like to use specialized vocabulary, specific to a database.

To access our complete list of article databases, visit the A to Z Database list OR check out our research guides to see databases by subject.

Return to Top

What if I already have an article citation and just need to find the full text?

If you are looking for a specific article, put the article title in quotation marks.

Ex: "Cacao seeds are a "Super Fruit": A comparative analysis of various fruit powders and products"

**Remember: WorldCat Local may not include the most recent volumes of a journal or newspaper, so if you are unable to find the full text in WorldCat Local, ask a librarian.

Related Guides