University Library

Basic Search Tips for WorldCat Local

WorldCat Local uses a relevancy algorithm to return your results that takes into account the following factors:

  • Whether search terms appear anywhere in record
  • Search terms appearing in the title, author, or subject field are ranked highest
  • Proximity of search terms to each other
  • Number of libraries that own item
  • How recently the item was published

In addition, in the regular search results, WorldCat Local will first display those items owned by DePaul University Libraries.

The default Basic Search in WorldCat Local searches...

  • Items owned by DePaul University Libraries
  • Items owned by I-Share Libraries
  • Items owned by Libraries WorldWide
  • A selection of article databases.
  • Selected eBook collections

To search by topic or keyword....

  • Enter your words in the box
  • Words can be in upper or lower case
  • Multiple words can be entered in any order.

How does WorldCat Local interpret my search?

WorldCat Local will search for ALL of your keywords in the following places and return a range of items in various formats:

  • title
  • subject matter
  • author's name
  • the item's format and/or language
  • year of publication
  • name(s) or publishers 
  • if the item is an article, the name of the magazine or journal in which the article appeared
  • for recorded music and movies: artist, actor, or director name

To search for an exact title or a phrase...

  • Use quotation marks.

By default, WorldCat Local searches the following databases as part of basic search:

  • Academic Search Complete
  • ArticleFirst
  • Business Source Complete
  • Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
  • Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
  • Electronic Books
  • Electronic Collections Online
  • ERIC
  • Essay & General Literature Index
  • Humanities Abstracts
  • MEDLINE
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • Newspaper Source Plus
  • OAIster
  • PsycArticles
  • WorldCat Dissertations and Theses

Additional databases can be added to your search, by going to Advanced Search. See the Articles pages for more information.

WorldCat Local uses a relevancy algorithm to return your results that takes into account the following factors:

  • Whether search terms appear anywhere in record
  • Search terms appearing in the title, author, or subject field are ranked highest
  • Proximity of search terms to each other
  • Number of libraries that own item
  • How recently the item was published

In addition, in the regular search results, WorldCat Local will first display those items owned by DePaul University Libraries.

Return to Top

Loading

What is WorldCat Local

WorldCat Logo

WorldCat Local is a Google-like search tool that searches:

  • DePaul Libraries Catalog
  • I-Share Catalog
  • WorldCat catalogs
  • Selected article databases
  • E-books
  • And other online resources

Related Guides