University Library

Vincentian Books at DePaul

The Vincentian Studies Institute Collection: This collection contains over 5,000 individual volumes relating to the life and time of St. Vincent DePaul and the various figures and organizations that surrounded him. Books and journals in the collection can all be found by searching DePaul's online catalog. Note the location of each volume listed in your search results, as the much of the VSI Collection is housed in Special Collections and Archives and cannot be browsed or circulated.

Vincentian Rare Books: These volumes are especially important, rare, or otherwise remarkable, and are therefore housed in Special Collections and Archives. Included in this collection are books read and commented on by St. Vincent de Paul, religious texts whose publication dates fall within St. Vincent's lifetime (1581-1660), and early biographies of St. Vincent and Louise de Marillac. Volumes in this collection can be found by searching DePaul's online catalog. You can also utilize the DePaul Library Vincentian Bibliographies in the righthand column.

The Opening Day Collection: The library of the first Vincentian mission in the United States, St. Mary's of the Barrens in Perryville, Missouri, this collection features books on a wide range of subjects published prior to 1818. The collection's importance to the field of Vincentian Studies is their historical provenance rather than the content of the books themselves. Volumes in this collection can be found by searching DePaul's online catalog.

Digitized books and journals can be found in the Digital Materials and Exhibits tab of this guide.

Digitized Vincentian Texts and Maps

DePaul's Vincentian Bibliographies

A bibliography is a list of works that shares a common theme, such as the books of a specific author, or titles relating to a specific subject. These bibliographies contain materials held by DePaul University Library, and currently housed in Special Collections and Archives.

Special Collections and Archives

Contact Information

773-325-7864
Send Email

Hours
Monday - Friday, 9:00-5:00

Request Materials

Researcher Registration Form