This is the "Overview" page of the "Vincentian Research guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Vincentian Research guide  

Guide to resources about St. Vincent DePaul and the Vincentian Family
Last Updated: Mar 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.depaul.edu/vincentianstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is the Vincentian Studies Collection?

Interested in Sts. Vincent de Paul, Louise de Marillac, or Elizabeth Ann Seton? Want to learn more about the Vincentian mission, its worldwide legacy, and the celebrated histories of the Vincentian Family? This guide is an excellent place to begin your research. It features materials available through DePaul University Libraries, as well as Vincentian resources available elsewhere.

DePaul University's fundamental mission is closely linked to its Vincentian heritage, and we collect a wide range of materials pertaining to St. Vincent and the Vincentian Family. The Vincentian Studies Collection (VSC) includes books, journals and serials, newspapers, catalogs and bibliographies, maps, archival material, illustrations and art objects, holy cards, postcards, and other ephemera. The VSC also features many digitized texts, maps images, links to which can be found in the Digital Collections tab. Items in the collections range in date from before Vincent founded the Congregation of the Mission in 1625 to the present day.

The bulk of the Vincentian Studies Collection currently resides at the John T. Richardson Library, in Special Collections and Archives (JTR 313). SPCA items are non-circulating, and are available for public consultation.

 

Vincentian Studies Collection Policy Statement

For more detailed information about the contents and scope of the VSC, please read the Collection Policy Statement below.

What's in this Guide


  • Using the Collection
    A brief overview of the Vincentian Collections, and a history of their place at DePaul.
  • Beginning your Research
    Article databases, indices and reference sources for beginning your Vincentian research.
  • Vincentian Books
    Important books and bibliographies on St. Vincent de Paul, St. Louise de Marillac, and St. Elizabeth Seton.
  • Digital Materials
    Texts, images, maps, and other materials that have been digitized.
  • Vincentian Family
    Information on the Congregation of the Mission, the Daughters of Charity, and other organizations within the Vincentian Family.

Librarian

Profile Image
Andrew Rea
Contact Info
Phone: (773) 325-8117
Fax: (773) 325-6928
Send Email
 

Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip