This is the "Home" page of the "Richardson Library Renovation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Richardson Library Renovation  

This guide will serve as a home for information and updates about the renovation project
Last Updated: Dec 1, 2011 URL: http://libguides.depaul.edu/renovation Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

At its May 19th meeting, the Board of Trustees approved the first phase of a four year, ten million dollar  renovation of the John T. Richardson Library. Our goal is to be as open as possible about the renovation; This LibGuide will be your resource for information on the Renovation, including the special issue of the Faculty Newsletter announcing the renovation, floor plans, progress reports, and room for community feedback.

 

Renovation Project Overview

Special Faculty Renovation Newsletter

An Open Letter from Father Edward Udovic regarding the renovation

At its May 19th meeting, the Board of Trustees approved the first phase of a four year, ten million dollar  renovation of the John T. Richardson Library. The first phase of the renovation is scheduled to begin this summer, with subsequent phases taking place each summer through the summer of 2014. These phases have been planned in such a way as to minimize the impact on ongoing library operations. (Read More)

Creating a Flexible, Scalable Information Commons

One of the key challenges the DePaul Libraries face is re-configuring our traditional library spaces to better serve student and faculty research needs in the face of changing technologies, modalities of information delivery and learning styles.  The DePaul Library's Commons will be a shared social space where diverse groups of people gather to access and share information. The Commons is designed to support and enhance learning by providing state-of-the-art technology and comprehensive access to Library collections in a comfortable social setting. (Read More)

Welcome to Research Central

When sending your students to the new library, be sure to mention the second floor, where they will find collections and services to support academic research.  A highly visible, centrally located Reference Desk serves as the hub of this research center, including a traditional reference collection, current periodicals, media, and the Chicago Collection.  New media viewing/listening rooms in proximity to media collections and additional group study space will provide a variety of venues for individuals and groups to interact. (Read More)

Our Changing Collections and the Library Renovation

DePaul’s Libraries have never offered a richer collection of resources, nor have our resources ever been easier to access. In response to our patrons’ needs and in support of DePaul’s curriculum, we have built extensive digital collections. Databases and e-journals are our most highly used resources; e-books are becoming more prevalent. We are digitizing resources for course use and building unique digital collections at an unprecedented rate. At the same time, our print book collections and primary resources are still being used. (Read More)

Expanded Space for Special Collections and Archives

The last ten years of expansion in the instructional and curricular uses of the primary source materials held in Special Collections and Archives has far outpaced the existing spaces designed in 1988. The plans for the renovation of Richardson include exciting changes for how we work with our patrons and with the classes that have come to rely on our services. (Read More)

 

Richardson Library

 

Mobile Version

Scan this Code

http://bit.ly/p6YLOK

Scan This Code

Scan this code with your smartphone and a QR Code enabled app to access the mobile version of this guide

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip