Transferring Records to University Archives
If you are a member of DePaul's administration, faculty, staff or student body, chances are good that you are producing records that could be part of University Archives.
If you have already identified records for the Archives, see Forms for Download on the right, and use the Transfer Instructions and Transfer Form to direct them to University Archives.
On this page you will also find:
- General Guidelines for what to send to the Archives
- Help for your Electronic Records
- Training opportunities in Archiving 101
Visit our Records Help and FAQs page if you still have questions about what to send to the Archives:
- Explore our Roles and Records Query to think about your records like an archivist
- Read Customized Records Guidelines
- Review FAQs about what's in the Archives, and what we might not accept
- Find out how the Department of Records Management may also be able to help
From most DePaul offices, programs, groups or officers we will collect the following:
- Meeting minutes
- Annual reports
- Special reports and surveys
- Accreditation documentation (from colleges, schools and academic departments)
- Memorabilia from DePaul events
- Photographs, where at least the date and event are known
- Records listed on the University’s official Records Retention Schedule with the designation “Send to University Archives.”
- Resources described in a set of Customized Records Guidelines that the Archives has developed for your office
Your office may produce other records that are right for the Archives.
(Visit our FAQs for a description of records that the Archives might not accept.)
Electronic records are records too! They are subject to the same University policies whether they exist on paper or as PDFs, Word documents, jpegs, or in a database.
If you have electronic records you think belong in the Archives, please contact the University Archivist.
Learn more about University Archives’ collections and services for the DePaul community in Archiving 101, part of the Office of Human Resources’ Workplace Learning Catalog. Archiving 101 is offered twice each year at the Loop and Lincoln Park campuses. To register for an upcoming session:
- Log in to Campus Connect
- Navigate to For Employees
- Select Self Service
- Select Request Training Enrollment under Learning and Development
- Choose Search by Course Name and enter Archiving 101, or look for CS001A when you choose Search by Course Number.
- Select “View Available Dates” and choose a session that fits your schedule.
- A set of instructions within Campus Connect will walk you through the registration process, or watch the registration tutorial.
DePaul University Special Collections and Archives
2350 N Kenmore, Suite 314
Chicago, IL 60614
The Archives may reject transfers sent without the proper documentation.
Fill out the "Transfer Form" to share crucial information with us about your records, and use the "Labels" template for any boxes you'll be transferring.
Check out our "SAMPLE" if you need help filling out the form.