- 21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook
Provides an introduction to the discipline and a number of different approaches to studying communication. Focuses on the processes, characteristics, relationships, and forms of communication.
- Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
Provides an overview of traditional and electronic media's interaction with, and impact on, children and adolescents.
- Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
Provides descriptions of the theories that explain numerous aspects of communication and present the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories.
- Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world.
- Encyclopedia of Journalism
Surveys the state of journalism at the end of the first decade of the twenty-first century. The focus of the entries is on the gathering, editing, reporting, and distribution of news.
- Encyclopedia of New Media
Reference work in the field of new media, covering topics such as broadband, content filtering, cyberculture, cyberethics, digital divide, freenet, MP3, privacy, telemedicine, viruses, and wireless networks.
- Encyclopedia of Political Communication
Covers major theoretical approaches to the field of political communication, including direct and limited effects theories, agenda-setting theories, sociological theories, framing and priming theories, and other past and present conceptualizations.
- Encyclopedia of Public Relations
Explores the evolution of the public relation field, with examples from history describing events, changing practices, and the key figures who developed and expanded the profession.
- Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
Covers the theory, history, and practice of rhetoric, with a special emphasis on public speaking, performance, and communication.
- Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Communication
Provides information on the range of interrelated issues in the interdisciplinary field of science communication.
- Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media
Examines the variety of formats and experiences that comprise social movement media. Thematic essays address selected issues such as human rights media, indigenous peoples' media, and environmentalist media, and on key concepts widely used in the field such as alternative media, citizens' media, and community media.
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
Provides coverage of films and filmmakers, including actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, as well as photographs.
- Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Provides an introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.