Full-text online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Also includes biographies of scientists, late-breaking science and technology news, learning resources and study guides.
- Credo Reference: Medicine
Find useful background information, definitions, research terminology, anatomical descriptions and images from over 40 different medical and nursing encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Encyclopaedia of Occupational Health and Safety. 4th edt.
Covers all aspects of occupational health and safety including occupational diseases, prevention, health promotional activities; legal, ethical and social policy; hazards, accidents and safety management; chemicals in industry, toxicological properties and more. Compiled by the International Labour Organization of the U.N.
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics. 3rd ed. (2004)
Covers topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment.
- Encyclopedia of Cancer and Society
Covers individual and societal aspects of cancer including the issues that surround cancer and its effects on society.
- Encyclopedia of Disability
Multidisciplinary, cross-cultural, and historically grounded resource tool that covers the fields, theories, debates, and practices relating to disabilities.
- Encyclopedia of Epidemiology
Covers major facets of epidemiology, from risk ratios to case-control studies to mediating and moderating variables. Relevant topics from related fields such as biostatistics and health economics are also included.
- Encyclopedia of Family Health
Compilation of knowledge on health and families for all learners, practitioners, researchers, theorists, and educators across the disciplines of health-related sciences.
- Encyclopedia of Global Health
Covers a broad array of health topics, including physical and mental health, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities. Includes a glossary of health definitions.
- Encyclopedia of Health & Aging
Covers the biological, psychological, social, and economic aspects of health and aging and impacts within the health-care system. Also focuses heavily on geriatrics with respect to geriatric syndromes and common diseases of aging.
- Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior
Reference work in the field of behavioral medicine. Covers topics such as physical activity, stress & health, smoking, pain management, social support & health, cardiovascular health, health promotion, and HIV/AIDS.
- Encyclopedia of Health Care Management
Reference work covering health care management.
- Encyclopedia of Obesity
Spans across obesity-related disciplines, including molecular biology, psychology, medicine, public health and policy, food science, environmental health, pharmaceuticals, physiology, endocrinology, and many others to summarize pertinent topics in obesity, and related health conditions.
- Encyclopedia of Stem Cell Research
Covers the basic concepts in stem cell biology, including politics, ethics, and challenges facing the field.
- Encyclopedia of Stress
Covers many aspects and ramifications of stress, including the biological mechanisms involved in the stress response, the effects of activating the stress response mechanisms, and the disorders that may arise as the result of acute or chronic stress.
- Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery
Covers contemporary and historical issues in the AOD (alcohol & other drugs) field that would be of interest to those in prevention, treatment, or recovery studies or practice.
- Magill’s Medical Guide
Compendium of medical information suitable for research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers.