- American Decades
Each volume in this multi-volume set addresses one of the ten decades in the 20th century. Explore the social, economic and political events that influenced consumers who were coming of age then in order to understand them better today.
- American Decades Primary Sources
Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
- American Home Front in World War II
Examines the effect of World War II on people living in America, including the changing role of women, Civil Defense, and the draft. Includes primary sources such as speeches, documents, and photographs.
- American Inaugurals: The Speeches, The Presidents, and Their Times
Inaugural addresses of 43 United States Presidents. Each entry includes a brief biography, a list of important events during that president's term of office, the actual text of the speech, and notable quotes. Illustrated with portraits and reproductions of period paintings, photos, and engravings.
- Credo Reference: History
A collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries covering modern and ancient world histories.
- De Imperatoribus Romanis (On the Rulers of Rome)
Online encyclopedia on the rulers of the Roman empire from Augustus (27 BC-AD 14) to Constantine XI Palaeologus (1449-1453). Includes biographical essays, family trees of important imperial dynasties, an index of significant battles and maps.
- Dictionary of American History
Brief, authoritative entries on thousands of people, places, and events in U.S. history. 3rd ed. (2003).
- Encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the present
Focuses on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period. The years 1619-1895, from the colonial period to the age of Frederick Douglass, are covered in a print encyclopedia, Lincoln Park Reference, call number R. 973.0496073 E56f2006.
- Encyclopedia of American Studies
Includes articles and biographies with coverage ranging from pre-colonial days to the present.
- Encyclopedia of American Urban History
Offers an interdisciplinary approach to American Urban History by covering topics from economics, geography, anthropology, politics, and sociology.
- Encyclopedia of Chicago
Photographs, biographies, essays, art, music, maps and documents on all things Chicago.
- Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West
Provides an overview of the settling of the West and its population during various periods of migration.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture - 2nd ed.
Provides a multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
- Encyclopedia of Mass Violence
Database focusing on massacres and genocides of the 20th century. Includes chronological indexes, case studies, analytical contributions on socio-political violence in a given country, and a glossary of terms.
- Europe 1789-1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
Covers European history from the onset of the French Revolution to the outbreak of World War.
- Encyclopedia of North American Indians
Written by more than 260 contemporary authorities, these portraits of American Indian life address the complexities of the Native American experience, past and present.
- Encyclopedia of Terrorism
Provides an overview of the who, what, where, when, and why of terrorism. Topics covered include Al-Qaeda, biological terrorism, extremism, jihad, and suicide bombers.
- Encyclopedia of the Great Depression
Authoritative, multidisciplinary encyclopedia on Depression-era politics, government, business, economics, literature, the arts, society and culture. 2nd ed. (2004).
- Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
With a focus on Europe and Christendom, this encyclopedia provides 3,000 articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century, including art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology.
- Encyclopedia of United States National Security
Interdisciplinary reference work approaching national security from historical, economic, political, and technological perspectives.
- Encyclopedia of War & American Society
Multidisciplinary historical reference work that examines the numerous ways wars affect societies.
- Encyclopedia of Women in the American West
Focuses on the lives of women in the American West from the mid-1800s to the present, contextualizing their experiences and contributions to American society. Covers topics such as agriculture/ranching, the arts, education, entrepreneurs, law, pioneers, religion, and women's organizations.
- Historic Documents
Provides access to primary source documents covering significant events from 1972 to 2011. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
- History Behind the Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide
In-depth information on conflicts appearing in today's headlines. Users are provided with historical background and analysis to events to give a greater understanding of the politics, players, and layers of current affairs.
- History in Dispute
Provides critical perspectives on both sides of heavily debated questions surrounding historical events from classical antiquity, the Crusades, the American Revolution, slavery, revolutionary Russia, the Spanish Civil War, the Red Scare, the Cold War, American and European social and political movements, World War I, World War II, the Holocaust, the Middle East, and the environment.
LookLex / Encyclopaedia is an expansion of Encyclopaedia of the Orient. As of December 2007 the firm, LexicOrient, changed its name to LookLex - and the original intent to cover North Africa and the Middle East has been enlarged to include every subject in the entire world.
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Surveys the history of Western thought and culture. Explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital.
- New Encyclopedia of Africa
Addresses the entire history of African cultures (both northern and Sub-Saharan) from the ancient civilizations through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries. Articles by Africanist scholars in anthropology, geography, history, and cultural studies.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
Includes comprehensive coverage of art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict in 14th to 17th century Europe.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Covers ancient Egyptian civilization from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Includes art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics, everyday social life and the culture of the court.
- Reader's Companion to Military History
Covers major events, battles and wars worldwide from the Persian Wars of 490 B.C. to the Gulf War of 1990-1991. Encompasses a wide range of thematic articles covering such topics as courage, discipline, the effects of weather on warfare, gays in the military, military justice, surrender, the role of propaganda, the use of animals in war, the evolution of uniforms, weaponry, technological advances in warfare, psychological warfare, and morale.
- Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History
Written by more than 300 contributors, drawn from various areas of expertise, these narrative and interpretive entries effectively cover five centuries of women's experiences.
- Resort to War: 1816 - 2007
Analyzes more than a thousand wars waged from 1816 to 2008. Lists and categorizes all violent conflicts with 1,000 or more battle deaths and provides a narrative for each struggle.
- Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia
Covers women of historical interest worldwide, from around 3100 BCE to the modern age.