- Benezit Dictionary of Artists
The Benezit Dictionary of Artists contains almost 170,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present day and it also has thousands of auction records, museum holdings, and bibliographies. Two notable strengths are its coverage of obscure artists and its inclusion of images of artists’ signatures, monograms, and stamps.
- Grove Art Online
Grove is a great place to get background information on an artist, period or style from prehistory to the modern era and is one of the most significant arts reference sources available. The print version is titled The Dictionary of Art. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- Grove Art Online: Biographies
Extensive reference in the visual arts. Browse entries by artist's last name, search for biographies according to desired criteria, e.g., artists born in Chicago or use the "Explore" option to generate thematic lists of people from which to choose, e.g., women artists in Japan.
- Grove Encyclopedia of American Art
Covers all subject areas in American fine art, such as biographies of major artists, architects and patrons, architecture, painting, new media, photography, sculpture, installation art, performance art, new media art, and art education.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture
Provides historical and cultural information about the visual arts of the Classical period.
- Oxford Art Online
Gateway to an impressive collection of art reference titles including Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
Authoritative and up-to-date information about dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance, including carnivals, circus, and public executions.
- Thames & Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century Architecture
Brief guide to architects and architectural periods of the 20th century.
- Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
Concise dictionary of art terms.
- Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers
Concise dictionary on the leading figures in graphic design since 1840 and on the artistic movements and technical advances of the period.
Search 9 credible, academic encyclopedias.