University Library DePaul Library

DePaul University Library Persistent Link Creator

We have changed our proxy url address. Using our link tool you can update any urls that use the previous proxy address and create stable persistent links to library resources. You can also use this tool to create new stable persistent urls to any resource. Use the dropdown if you are using a specific database and need help selecting the proper url to use.

The link must be a stable, persistent link. Select the database to see instructions on how to locate stable and persistent links in our databases:

EBSCOhost databases

  1. Connect to one of the EBSCOhost databases through the library web site.
  2. Find the article for which you want to create a link and click on the title to open the record.
  3. On the lower right side of the page, locate the permalink icon and click this icon to open the permalink to this article
  4. The permalink will appear just above the title of the article, copy this link to use as a persistent link.

*Note: Using these steps above, the link tool will not be necessary, but you may use this tool to test the link provided.

LexisNexis

  1. Connect to LexisNexis through the library web site.
  2. Find the article for which you want to create a permalink and click on the title to open the record.
  3. On the upper right side of the page, locate the permalink icon and click this icon to open the permalink to this article
  4. A new window will open containing the link. Follow the instructions to copy the link, using the right click method to copy the link url.
  5. Paste the copied link url into the tool below to create a stable permalink.

Jstor

  1. Find the article for which you want to create a link and click on the title to open the record
  2. Look for the link labeled "Stable Link"
  3. Copy this link and paste it into the tool below to create a stable permalink that can be access from on and off campus

Proquest

  1. Many Proquest urls should be stable links if are copied from the correct locations. You can still use this tool to check them though. Find the article for which you want to create a link and click on the title to open the record
  2. Look for the link labeled "Document URL", located near the bottom of the article
  3. Copy this link and paste it into the tool below to create a stable permalink that can be access from on and off campus

You can also create links to searches by following these steps

  1. Look for Recent searches at the top of the screen
  2. Click the Actions link next to the search you want
  3. Click Get Link button and copy the link

Springer databases

  1. Connect to the Springer journal of interest through the library web site.
  2. Find the article for which you want to create a link and click on the title to open the record.
  3. On the upper left side of entry for the article, locate the DOI number and copy it. Add http://dx.doi.org/ to the front of this number (Example: http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s00261-012-9955-6)
    Add http://dx.doi.org/ to the front of this number (Example: http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s00261-012-9955-6)

Wiley databases

  1. Connect to the Wiley journal of interest through the library web site.
  2. Find the article for which you want to create a link and click on the title to open the record.
  3. On the upper left side of entry for the article, locate the DOI number and copy it.
    Add http://dx.doi.org/ to the front of this number (Example: http://dx.doi.org/10.1111/j.1911-3838.2012.00033.x). Alternatively, you could click on the pdf link and use that URL (example: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1911-3838.2012.00033.x/pdf) but this link could break if the platform changes.

ScienceDirect databases

  1. Connect to the ScienceDirect journal of interest through the library web site.
  2. Find the article for which you want to create a link and click on the title to open the record.
  3. Below the author’s academic affiliations, locate the DOI URL and copy it.

IEEE databases

  1. Connect to the IEEE journal of interest through the library web site.
  2. Find the article for which you want to create a link and click on the title to open the record.
  3. Below the abstract, look for the Digital Object Identifier.

1. Copy and paste your source URL here:

 

2. Click the "Create link" button:

 

3. Copy and use the resulting link:

 

4. Clear the form to make another link:

 

If you have any problems making a link, please contact:eres-lib@depaul.edu

 

Need Help?

If you have any problems making a link please contact:

eres-lib@depaul.edu