Market Research
What are the consumer demographics for a particular product/brand/location? Can I find market share details? These are two of the most common questions. Answers can be elusive, but here are some powerful tools to start your research:
- MarketResearch.com This link opens in a new windowAccess extensive reports on consumer behavior and industry/market trends in retailing, food and beverages, personal care, manufacturing, services, hospitality, healthcare and technology. Use the advanced search option to limit results to more recent reports. Please note: you cannot go directly to this website; you must use this link here in order to authenticate properly and to see the content to which we subscribe.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowMarket research database providing statistics and analysis on companies, industries, economies, and consumers worldwide.
Access note: Some users might encounter a single sign-on (SSO) prompt in error and subsequent link to “Contact your institution." We recommend first trying a different browser or clearing cookies to see if doing so resolves the issue.
Access note: Not available to walk-in users. - SMA: Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on all aspects of sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, demographics, fan profiles, sports finance, sponsorship, broadcasting, media, and marketing.
- Market Share ReporterPresents comparative business statistics. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.
- Data.census.govData.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research to track attitudes and trends shaping the U.S. and the world. Pew Research does not take policy positions. Browse by topic or search by keyword.
- Market Research & American Business, 1935-1965 This link opens in a new windowContains the market research reports of Ernest Dichter, a consumer analyst and market research pioneer. The reports and ads cover a wide range of consumer industries, including clothing and accessories, food and drink, and sport and leisure.
- Business Plans HandbookA collection of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America.
- Bloomsbury Food Library This link opens in a new windowOffers cross-searchable access to encyclopedias, reference works, e-books, images and more in food-related studies. Covers topics in food history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies.
- J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America This link opens in a new windowAn archive of the history, operation, and policies of the J. Walter Thompson advertising firm. Includes: print advertisements, publications, business records, and other internal company documents pertaining to a wide range of brands, companies, and industries.
Business Directories
Need to identify businesses in a particular location or industry? Trying to find market research firms?
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsEffective December 31, 2023, this resource is no longer available to DePaul University. Similar alternatives resources include Business Source Complete, MarketResearch.com, Passport, and Nexis Uni. Visit our Subscriptions Cancellation page to learn more. If you have any questions, please contact John Leeker.
- GreenBookDirectory of market research firms.
Finding Target Market Info in Article Databases
- Target Market ResearchShort, 3 minute long video outlining a search strategy for finding target market content in the business press.
Demographic Analysis
In addition to the sources at the left, additional tools for market segmentation can be viewed here.